Response to UK Government broadcast noteworthy for many reasons

Posted on April 22, 2011

1


 

As we discovered during my interview with Colin Cram yesterday, there is more than meets the eye in terms of the critical drivers behind any government’s decision-making process . . . even when it involves a free offer from an emerging industry leader in spend management.

That being said, there are still those whose unique areas of practice and expertise warrant serious consideration, such as the following response from Robert F. Connolly, MST from BC Compliance Group.

By all means they are wrong for declining. First let me say that I am not familiar with Rosslyn Analytics or QlickTech but as I read the reasons for declining it has nothing to do with the credibility of either organization.

The three (3) reasons for not agreeing just scream fear of the results. The first reason ties into the 3rd reason – if they were already building an “expensive data warehouse” they would hopefully already be gathering information pertinent to what RA & QT would need. If that is not the case then why are they bothering to build anything? If they are fearful of asking departments for this information now what makes them think that an internal development will make them more comfortable asking for it. To me it comes down to fear of what will be found and fear of job loss from the results.

Reason two (2) was based upon the fact that they didn’t believe that the study could be done within a one (1) month time frame. That I would have to agree with but it doesn’t negate the fact that such an independent study would most likely produce much more value than its cost (internal & external) so rather than decline work together to create a realistic timeline to work from.

I recently contacted a State regarding an article I read where they found $4 Million in overcharges in a prominent port. I wanted to find out did they recover any of this and to offer my Firm’s services to assist in such efforts. I was told they had the authority to identify the inefficiencies, overcharges, etc. but not the authority to recover the funds. They told me to contact another division within the government but did not give me a specific contact nor did they forward my information on to a particular person.

The reason for my story goes to the point that unfortunately our respective governments (Federal & local) are, in my opinion, more concerned on giving the perception of doing the necessary work rather than actually doing the work that will bring about change and correct the inefficiencies or gaps that run up our respective debts.

30